*

Support EIR:R

April Goal:$54.00
Net Balance:$0.00
Below Goal:$54.00
We have reached 0% of our goal!

EIR Menu

EIR Menu

User

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 20, 2018, 10:33:12 am

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

[April 18, 2018, 10:41:05 pm]

[March 29, 2018, 11:41:41 pm]

[March 29, 2018, 09:00:35 pm]

[March 25, 2018, 10:04:07 am]

[March 23, 2018, 08:58:06 pm]

[March 17, 2018, 05:27:09 pm]

[March 05, 2018, 03:18:51 pm]

by Bear
[March 04, 2018, 03:11:09 pm]

by Bear
[March 03, 2018, 09:49:37 am]

[February 23, 2018, 10:44:48 am]
Mod of the Year Awards

Most Innovative Multiplayer Nominee





Award Recipient




Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing the mod in windows 8  (Read 5112 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« on: October 25, 2014, 03:16:07 pm »

Hey this looks like a really fun mod but I am confused as to where I need to install the auto-updater. When I go to login on the desktop thing it says incorrect version. Then when I go to run the updater it says it is installed in the wrong place. Can someone help me with this? I have looked at the forums and stuff and they all say different things. Also if it helps any I am running windows 8. If you need to get ahold of me just add me on steam. TheOneFreeMan1776      

                                                                Thanks.


Tank Edit: I have changed the name of your thread and stickied it for others to read - including myself... I just tried loading the mod in a new computer and had the same issue.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 05:15:48 pm by tank130 » Logged

"The only way for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmund Burke
"Into the fray I go, The last good fight I'll ever know, To live and die on this day, To live and die on this day." - The Grey
Alpha TIG Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 2882



« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 04:39:13 pm »

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Company of Heroes Relaunch

BTW, this mod's player base is currently a bit dead at the moment; However EIR2 is set to be released, and we are all pretty much waiting on it before playing a lot again like we all used to not too long ago.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 04:43:54 pm by Alpha TIG » Logged

Stop fucking with the mod and doing shit you know you shouldn't do

http://i.imgur.com/Nhr6wfs.png I did shit that I shouldn't do, again...
XIIcorps Offline
Donator
*
Posts: 2611



« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2014, 04:41:32 pm »

The installer has a habit of making a COH folder inside of the COH directory.
But tigs path is correct.
Logged

some of My kids i work with shower me Wink
Alpha TIG Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 2882



« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2014, 04:47:17 pm »

The installer has a habit of making a COH folder inside of the COH directory.

^ if it does that just move the folder inside the folder outside the folder and delete the now empty folder which beforehand had contained a folder of the same name which contained all of the files.
Logged
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2014, 05:29:00 pm »

I am just confused as to where it is supposed to go because all the tutorials and forums I have found say different things. P.S. I am not a real techy person so if you can please explain things a little simpler. Thanks
Logged
XIIcorps Offline
Donator
*
Posts: 2611



« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2014, 08:51:41 pm »

I am just confused as to where it is supposed to go because all the tutorials and forums I have found say different things. P.S. I am not a real techy person so if you can please explain things a little simpler. Thanks
All the tutorials are from when COH was hosted on relics servers, they are now hosted by Sega via Steam.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Company of Heroes Relaunch
Thats the current  and only way to get it working
Logged
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2014, 09:07:09 pm »

 Oh Ok that explains a lot. Lol maybe you should update the tutorials. I have the game installed. But where does the auto-updater go?  That is what I am having trouble with. (Sorry if that is a stupid question)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 09:13:46 pm by The One Free Man1776 » Logged
tank130 Offline
Sugar Daddy
*
Posts: 8943


« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2014, 09:16:00 pm »

Don't feel stupid. I am the project manager for this mod and I don't have a fucking clue where to install the thing anymore either.
Logged

Quote
Geez, while Wind was banned I forgot that he is, in fact, totally insufferable
I'm not going to lie Tig, 9/10 times you open your mouth, I'm overwhelmed with the urge to put my foot in it.
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2014, 09:58:17 pm »

This mod looks like alot of fun but it is being a royal pain in my ass trying to get it to work
Logged
XIIcorps Offline
Donator
*
Posts: 2611



« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2014, 10:34:09 pm »

As far as I know windows 8 is the new vista when it comes to games.
From memory the updater goes in the COH root directory outside of the EIR folder.
Logged
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2014, 12:44:48 am »

Hey Guys I just got the auto-updater to work. I moved it out of the CoH folder inside the CoH relaunch folder and just put it into the CoH relaunch folder. Now it works I think. Thanks for the help. Smiley Cheesy!!!
Logged
chefarzt Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 1949



« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2014, 05:04:43 am »

Fuckin´ Genius.
Logged


This community is full of a bunch of mindless idiots with memories like two year olds.

https://www.etsy.com/de/shop/ShitGlitter?ref=l2-shop-header-avatar
I'm not sure what you're so defensive about Tank.
 he makes shab look like a princess giving food to the poor.
Hicks58 Offline
Development
*
Posts: 5418



« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2014, 06:43:12 am »

Somebody should REALLY do a quick update on the launcher installation file so that it doesn't create a redundant folder where it gets installed to.
Logged

I mean I know Obama was the first one in EiR to get a card. and tbfh the Race card is pretty OP. but Romney has the K.K.K., those guys seem to camo anywhere. So OP units from both sides.
At the end of the day, however, stormtroopers finally got the anal invasion with a cactus they have richly deserved for years.
XIIcorps Offline
Donator
*
Posts: 2611



« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2014, 02:59:53 pm »

Somebody should REALLY do a quick update on the launcher installation file so that it doesn't create a redundant folder where it gets installed to.
Whats a quick update man ? its been like that for atleast 6 years lol.
Logged
The One Free Man1776 Offline
EIR Recruit
Posts: 8


« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2014, 09:10:07 pm »

Hello me again how do I change my username because I made the mistake of putting spaces in my username and the desktop thingy won't let me put spaces in. Can someone help? Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.076 seconds with 41 queries.