*

Account

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 03, 2024, 07:41:02 am

Login with username, password and session length

Resources

Recent posts

[February 03, 2024, 11:48:40 am]

[January 26, 2024, 11:09:45 am]

[January 17, 2024, 10:25:34 pm]

[January 17, 2024, 01:07:07 pm]

[December 30, 2023, 08:00:58 pm]

[December 27, 2023, 03:23:54 am]

[February 04, 2023, 11:46:41 am]

[December 25, 2022, 11:36:26 am]

[December 14, 2022, 12:10:06 am]

[September 22, 2022, 06:57:30 am]
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 13   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Worldbuilder Question Centre  (Read 83049 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #160 on: July 13, 2008, 04:29:33 pm »

Look in the debug window.  Do you see anything there about the error?
Logged

Kolath's Quote Commandments:
1. Thou shalt not quote the entirety of a post 3 or less posts above you
2. Thou shalt not quote more than 2 nested levels
3. Thou shalt not quote large blocks of text when one sentence would do
4. Thou shalt not quote images!
PrydainII Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 90


« Reply #161 on: July 18, 2008, 07:38:05 pm »

Kolath, it is strange but it has gone now, I doubt it is the reason why but after I released a spline, it saved.

However, I need tips on blending a road in. Currently the road has a boarder that I don't want on T junctions. Also, is there a way I can order splines to go on top of each other? Cheers so far.

Pic of problem:
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/9121/868553he8.jpg
Logged

Warbirds2 Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 422


« Reply #162 on: July 30, 2008, 03:26:34 pm »

I'm getting an error that I've long forgotten how to deal with.  It occurs when I try to open a new map I'm working on.

I open the map, get a blank render screen, and the map closes on me without it even opening.  I've attached the debug log for you guys.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #163 on: July 30, 2008, 09:52:31 pm »

Hmm... that is very odd.  Do you get that with all maps or just argentan?  If all maps, my only guess is that somehow worldbuilder files got corrupted.  Reinstallation might be the only recourse.
Logged
UnLimiTeDTLS Offline
EIR Regular
Posts: 39


« Reply #164 on: August 08, 2008, 04:30:22 pm »

I have a question that is related to corsix.
Well, at least I think it's related to corsix....

http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=124505

Exactly that problem.
Still, I don't get it even with the solution posted there.
If I do not want to lose the progress I've made until I made that mistake, is it ok to just make a stamp to transfer into a new, empty map, or will the missing grass be copied with it?  Well, I doubt so, but I'll better be sure.
This would allow me to actually work on the map some more and then stamp it over when I've come to a dead end and need the grass.
Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #165 on: August 08, 2008, 05:28:01 pm »

Hmmm... now this is an obscure one...  if the corsix method didn't work, you're best bet is to stamp the entire map.

This tends to fix all weird things like undeletable objects, graphical glitches, etc.

I would open a new map of exactly the same size.  Verify that grass works.  Then do a stamp of your original map to the new map.
Logged
UnLimiTeD Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 554


« Reply #166 on: August 28, 2008, 04:36:31 am »

How do I destroy vehicles in the map?

And far more important:

How is it possible to smooth the egdes of the rough stone wall? 
I just don't get it, I copied one from semois to compare them, and I'm sure, that one has smooth egdes, mine hasn't.
The ending points of those walls have DCA stace: capping, dunno what that is, but using it brings me no advantage as well.
Is this something else I have to unpack with corsix, just like the grass?

Is it possible to bury a destroyed vehicle in the ground?

Will DX10 Objects in the Map only appear when playing the game with Dx10?

Why do I ask so many questions?

Why is there one post missing on a fence in Abbeville?

And WHERE do I find pathing blockers?  I'm stupid I know.  Oh, and shot blockers aswell.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2008, 06:16:36 am by UnLimiTeD » Logged

Hey, it's not going to happen
MysthalinBlitz Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 62


« Reply #167 on: August 28, 2008, 06:32:15 am »

destroyed vehicles are in a seperate submenu in the worldbuilder.

It's possible burying anything in the ground while holding Alt to set the things height.

You ask so many questions that you're interested in getting your maps good.

Cause... rain on the map sux.

I'm pretty sure hedges and stuff like that are automatically set to shot/pathing blockers.
Logged
UnLimiTeD Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 554


« Reply #168 on: August 28, 2008, 06:37:20 am »

Thanks for that!
But I mean: There's not entirely destroyed tanks on maps like industrial hearthland, sure, they better be completely destroyed, but they will still look different to the 3 destroyed vehicles I found so far to place.
If I try to bury a fullhealth Greyhound (didn't find out how to destroy it) into the ground it will simply jump.
Logged
EscforrealityTLS Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 593



« Reply #169 on: August 28, 2008, 08:23:03 am »

How do I stop 88's from being able to shoot through trees and little hills?
Logged

Pwanawan baby!
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #170 on: August 28, 2008, 10:17:02 am »

Place shot block objects.  They come in two varieties: cubes and 2D pieces.

You can find the cubes under "art_tools" under epbs objects.  You should always place block cubes inside every grove to ensure that they properly block shots and movement.

You can also use the 2D blockers (forget where they are found) to block things like cliffs.

For hills it can be tricky because you don't want to block movement by using blockers but if you don't things can shoot through the hill.
Logged
salan
Guest
« Reply #171 on: August 28, 2008, 10:37:19 am »

Place shot block objects.  They come in two varieties: cubes and 2D pieces.

You can find the cubes under "art_tools" under epbs objects.  You should always place block cubes inside every grove to ensure that they properly block shots and movement.

You can also use the 2D blockers (forget where they are found) to block things like cliffs.

For hills it can be tricky because you don't want to block movement by using blockers but if you don't things can shoot through the hill.

its an interesting section of coh code that allows bullets to go through hill tops but shells themselves will actually hit the hill and stop..
Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #172 on: August 28, 2008, 10:46:29 am »

Yes.  Here's hoping they fix that in DoW2!  Tongue
Logged
UnLimiTeD Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 554


« Reply #173 on: August 28, 2008, 11:14:59 am »

So there's no way of entirely destroying a vehice?  I only found 4 premade destroyed vehicles, and when placing the sherman it's just invisible, only see the turret.
Mainly I'm interested in burying an AC in the ground partially, but I don't seem to find a way.

Also, my *MOST IMPORTANT* question about how to smooth egdes on stonewalls (rough_01 or what was it called) in splines got completely ignored.
So is there no way or was it just overlooked?
Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #174 on: August 28, 2008, 11:30:04 am »

There are probably a dozen wrecked vehicle objects.  I don't think there is a half-track but there are several other wrecked vehicles.

I don't know what you mean about the walls.  Post a picture.
Logged
EscforrealityTLS Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 593



« Reply #175 on: August 28, 2008, 11:53:02 am »

Thank you very much. I post screen shots of my map later. Its very much a work in progress.

Actually I have the same problem with that wall I can't find the Broken "end" piece of the wall other than the "Post" end. Where as in game when a tank drives through the wall there is a nice Wrecked piece that forms. Any idea where to get it?

Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #176 on: August 28, 2008, 12:31:28 pm »



You need to click the "edit state" button and then add a "wall destroy" state to the wall.

When you hit "edit state" it edits the chunk of wall in the text box next to it.  You should be able to see the numbered sections on the spline itself.  Put in the number of the parts of a wall you want to wreck then edit state and add wall destroy.

There are a variety of other states for objects such as lights turned on/off, adding destroyed parts of buildings, etc.
Logged
UnLimiTeD Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 554


« Reply #177 on: August 28, 2008, 02:06:34 pm »



And no destroyed AC?  whatever, I'll search.
Logged
Kolath Offline
Commander, 2nd Infantry Division
*
Posts: 2382



« Reply #178 on: August 28, 2008, 03:36:38 pm »

Hmm... yeah I think you either need to use an end-cap piece or set the state like in my post above.
Logged
EscforrealityTLS Offline
EIR Veteran
Posts: 593



« Reply #179 on: September 06, 2008, 07:17:57 am »

Where do I find smoke effects? I'd like to make it look like buildings where just bombed the night before. Little fires would be cool too if they where available. And where do I find the dust and litter that blows around in some maps?

On a different note what does the spline type deform do and how does it work?

Oh and how does stamp work? I tried to use it to basically copy paste a crater I did but when placed it it was about 0.5m higher than the area it was placed. (I hope this is understandable?)

Any way thanks in advance.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 13   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.115 seconds with 35 queries.